Crestwood Public School

Onwards and Upwards

Telephone02 9624 3950

Learning at our school

Find out more about what your child will learn at our school.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the primary years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 6 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science and technology.

Some primary schools may also offer languages.

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about curriculum in NSW, visit:

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. Primary school covers Early Stage 1, or Kindergarten, to the end of Stage 3.

  • Stage 1 includes Kindergarten to Year 2 (Kindergarten is referred to as Early Stage 1).
  • Stage 2 includes Years 3 and 4.
  • Stage 3 includes Years 5 and 6.


Crestwood Public School prides itself on delivering outstanding education through best teaching practice. Technology is embedded throughout each and every classroom and E-Learning is an integral part of all teaching and learning programs.

At Crestwood Public School we deliver outstanding educational outcomes through E-Learning as it is vital in engaging our students and providing them with a stimulating environment in which to learn. Today's world is a digital world, changing rapidly, and we are committed to preparing all of our students for this world.